WPage 1

Wes Welker, Charles Coody, And Doug Russell To Be Inducted Into Phi Delta Theta Sports Hall of Fame At Convention


Phi Delta Theta will be inducting a Masters Champion, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, and a five-time NFL Pro Bowler into its Sports Hall of Fame at the General Convention in San Antonio, Texas this June.

Brother Charles Coody is a graduate from Texas Christian University and a member of the Texas Zeta Chapter. His professional golf career culminated in 1971 when he beat Jack Nicholas by two strokes to take home the green jacket at The Masters Golf Tournament. Brother Coody was inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in 2000. Before retiring from active competition in 2006, Brother Coody accumulated three wins on the PGA Tour, two wins on the European Tour, and five wins on the Champions Tour.

Brother Doug Russell is a graduate from the University of Texas at Arlington and a member of the Texas Kappa Chapter. Brother Russell has two Olympic gold medals to his name. In 1968 he raced in the inaugural 100 Meter Butterfly event at the Olympics held in Mexico City, Mexico. Edging out the event favorite and teammate Mark Spitz, Doug led the way to a USA sweep in the inaugural event. He took home another gold medal in the same Olympics Games swimming the butterfly leg in the 4X100 Meter Medley Relay.

Brother Wes Welker is a graduate from Texas Tech University and a member of the Texas Epsilon Chapter. Coming off of two First-Team All Big 12 honors for the Red Raiders, Brother Welker started his National Football League (NFL) career with the San Diego Chargers in 2004 as an undrafted free-agent. Over his career, Brother Welker played for the Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots, Denver Broncos, and St. Louis Rams. He holds the record for most receptions by an undrafted player in NFL history. The five-time Pro Bowler has now embarked on his coaching career with the Houston Texans as an Offensive Assistant.

Help us celebrate this year’s Phi Delta Theta Sports Hall of Fame class this June at the 82nd Biennial Convention in San Antonio, Texas. The Sports Hall of Fame induction will take place at the opening General Session on the evening of Thursday, June 21. The induction will be emceed by Texas Gamma’s (Southwestern) Adam Winkler, an EMMY Award Winning Sports Anchor/Storyteller for WTKR TV (CBS) in Norfolk, Virginia.

Learn more about the General Convention

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *